Italian Bites

I decided to mix it up with this recipe besides the holiday treats, and share an Italian Quinoa Bites recipes. I have only tried using quinoa a couple of times, but this recipe has come up multiple times on pinterest and I have been dying to try it! It is is basically a delicious meatball of non-dairy cheese, quinoa, tomatoes and spices. I like to think of it almost as a mozzarella stick that can be dipped in marinara sauce! It sounds like it could be a great appetizer, snack or even a meal if you have the right sides!

The recipe is actually very short too which is surprising with gluten free items! I have all the items ready to make it for tomorrow and if it turns out well, I plan on making it for the holidays as well! I try and help out my family for the holidays since I am the only gluten-free one, so I provide delicious snacks so they can try it and see that it is not so bad living this way! Also, it is a great way for me not to feel like I am secluded only eating one or two things. Food is the main connection between people on holidays, so why not make them healthy, and take into consideration everyone’s allergies?! My grandma and uncle are allergic to milk, my brother is vegetarian and I am gluten free, so if I follow this recipe it makes everyone happy!!

Check it out for yourself!

http://www.forkandbeans.com/2013/04/18/italian-quinoa-bites/

Leave a comment